Also happened in February:

What did MoVACon2020 Achieve


MoVACon2020 was an attempt to bring all stakeholders – NGOs, road and automobile engineers, enforcement agencies, corporate who build roads and bridges, innovators and activists, EMS providers, industries and government officials - to make a mass movement towards safer roads.

We went beyond the concept of solitary actions; MoVACon2020 gave a chance for the 4 Es (Enforcement, Education, Engineering and Emergency Care) to come together; MoVACon2020 succeeded in taking Road Safety beyond closed door meetings of only the sensitised or the technical experts. It took Road Safety where it needs to be -  on the Roads.


Event SHedule

  • February 20 First Day
  • February 21 Second Day
Day 1: 20th February 2020
Time Program Details
8.00 to 9.00 Breakfast and Registration
9.00 to 11.00 Hall A - Inauguration
Inaugural Address: Road Safety Challenges in India – 4 E’s of Road Safety– Engineering, Education, Enforcement & Emergency Care
By Shri Ratan P Watal, Member Secretary, EAC-PM
11.00 to 11.30 Tea Break
11.30 to 11.50 Plenary 1: Global Plan for Decade of Safety Action – 2011 to 2020: How has India Fared?
Speaker: Mr K K Kapila, President (Emeritus), International Road Federation
Chair: Mr K Rajeswara Rao, Senior Advisor, EAC-PM
11.55 to 12.15 Plenary 2: Systemised Approach to Road Safety
Speaker: Mr Ashish Chutani,Maruti Suzuki India Limited
: Mr Sunish Jauhari, Indian Lead, Ashoka
12.20 to 13.10 Panel 1: Road Safety Legislation: Are we Doing Enough?   
Mr Ajay Umat, Editor-in-Chief, NavGujarat Samay,
Panellist 1: Dr Tamorish Kole, President, Asian Society for Emergency Medicine   Panellist 2: Ms Karuna Raina, Save Life Foundation
Panellist 3:
Mr Amar Bhatt, Advocate, Gujarat High Court
13.10 to 14.00 Lunch
14.05 to 14.55 State Interventions for Road Safety Speaker Chair
14.05 to 14.25 Road Safety Audit – Maharashtra Experience Mr C P Joshi, Secretary, PWD, Govt of Maharashtra Mr G Sharan, Chairman IRF-IC
14.25 to 14.35 Accident Research Study – Rajkot Mr Manoj Agarwal, Commissioner of Police, Rajkot Municipal Corporation
14.35 to 14.55

Road Safety Through Engineering by AUDA

14.45 to 15.00 Road Safety initiatives of Govt of Punjab Mr Arbab Ahmad, Manager, Punjab Vision Zero  
15.50 to 15.20 Plenary 3: Strengthening Emergency Care at Grass-root Level : WHO Perspective
Dr Gaurav Gupta, National Professional Officer (Injury & Disability Prevention)
Chair: Dr Minoo Patel, Director & Surgeon, New Life Hospital, Pioneer Medical & Paramedical College, Vadodara& Dr Mrugank Merchant, Chairman, Director and Consultant Orthopaedic surgeon at Shubhechha Multispeciality Hospital
15.20 to 15.40 Plenary 4: Vehicle Design: Towards a Safer India
Manohar Bhat, Head, Marketing & Sales, Kia Motors Chair: Mr Balraj Bhanot, Advisor, International Road Federation
15.40 to 16.10 Tea Break
16.10 to 16.30 Plenary 5: Financing of Innovation for Road Safety
Mr Sanjay K Randhar, Managing Director, Gujarat Venture Capital Finance Limited
Chair: Dr Subroto Das, Padma Shri Awardee
16.30 to 17.15 Panel 2: Road Safety Campaign – Do they really work? Newer Strategies
Moderator: Mr Kshitij Banker, Media Personality,
Panellist 1: Ms Indrani Malkani, Ashoka Fellow
Panellist 2: Mr Debu Purkayastha, Founder and Chief Creative, RUBBERSTAMP Panellist 3: Ms Leena Misra, Resident Editor, The Indian Express
17.55 End of the Day
Day 2: 21st February 2020
Programme Details
Hall A Only
8.00 to 9.00 Breakfast & Pre-entry formalities
9.00 to 9.20 Plenary 6: Intelligent Transport System
Prof P K Sikdar, Advisor, International Road Federation
: Mr Balraj Bhanot, Chairman, TEDC(BIS)
9.20 to 9.40 Plenary 7: Road Safety – Everyone’s Responsibility
Speaker: Mr K Rajeswara Rao, Senior Advisor, EAC-PM
:Mr K K Kapila, President (Emeritus), International Road Federation
9.40 to 10.30 Panel 3:  Enforcement - Plugging the Gaps
Mr Sunish Jauhari, Indian Lead, Ashoka
Panellist 1: Mr Lalit P Padalia, Road Safety Commissioner, Gujarat Road Safety Authority
Panellists 2: Mr S M Vijay Kumar (IPS), Deputy Commissioner of Police, Traffic, Hyderabad
Panellist 3: Mr Krishnanad Mavinkurve, Head Safety & Business Excellence – Ports & Logistics, Adani Ports and Logistics Business
10.30 to 11.00 Tea Break
11.00 to 11.50 Presentation by Innovator / Start ups Chair
11.00 to 11.10 Dr Amit Gupta, Professor of Surgery, Division of Trauma Surgery & Critical Care, J.P.N. Apex Trauma Center, and All India Institute of Medical Sciences Mr Sanjay K Randhar, Managing Director, Gujarat Venture Capital Finance Limited
11.10 to 11.20 Mr Kushal Kapadia, Innovator
11.20 to 11.30 Mr Akshay Gupta, Founder & CEO at Quixote
11.30 to 11.40 Mr Andrews Mackwan, DCP, Baroda City Traffic Police
11.40 to 11.50 Mr Sanskar Jain & Mr Shivam Beniwal, I-Safe
11.50 to 12.50 Post-Accident Care Speaker Chair
11.50 to 12.10 Emergency Care - the 4th ''E" of Road Safety Dr Dario Gonzalez, Associate Medical Director, New York City Fire Department, USA Dr Tamorish Kole, President, Asian Society for Emergency Medicine
12.10 to 12.30 Trauma Care for Road Traffic Accident  - The Indian Experience Dr Amit Gupta, Professor of Surgery,
Division of Trauma Surgery & Critical Care
J.P.N. Apex Trauma Center, and All India Institute of Medical Sciences
12.30 to 12.50 Emergency Medical Services for Road Traffic Accidents - US Experience Mr Jerry Overton, President, IAED, USA
12.50 to 14.00 Lunch
14.00 to 15.15 Mix Bag Speaker Chair
14.00 to 14.15 Preparing Future Road-users in India Mr Sunish Jauhari, Indian Lead, Ashoka

Dr Nikunj Desai,
Sr Lead - OH IH,
Reliance Industries Limited

Prof Rajesh Chandwani, Chairperson, Centre for Management of Health Services, IIM - Ahmedabad
14.15 to 14.30 Chemical Transportation – The Safer Way Mr Vikas Singhal, Head of Logistics, Gulbrandsen Group of Companies
14.30 to 14.45 User Behaviour Towards Traffic Rule Compliance – A Case for Ahmedabad Prof Shalini Sinha, Associate Professor Program Chair (Urban Transport Systems), Faculty of Planning, CEPT University
14.45 to 15.00 Transportation of Petroleum Products – Indian Oil Initiatives Mr Manish Chitkara, Chief Manager, Health, Safety & Environment (HSE)
15.00 to 15.15 Best Practices of Road Safety in Tamil Nadu Mr Satheesh Subramaniam, Jt Director, Highways Department, Government of Tamil Nadu
15.15 to 15.45 Tea Break
15.45 to 17.25 Road Safety - Case Studies Chair
15.45 to 16.00 Mr B K Sethu Madhavan, Founder & CEO, Greenarrows Safety & Skill Management Group Mr Sunish Jauhari, Indian Lead, Ashoka
& Prof P K Sikdar, President & HOD (Transportation & GIS), ICT
16.00 to 16.10 Mr Sujit Senapati, Chairman, Common Action for Road Safety
16.10 to 16.25 Mr Selvan Dasaraj, Founder, TransportMitra Services Pvt Ltd
16.25 to 16.40 Mr Amol Tope & Rajashree Tope, Co-Founder, Succeed Safe organisation
16.40 to 16.50 Mr Ravee Ahluwalia, Chief Functionary, Patiala Foundation
16.50 to 17.00 Ms Parul Kumar, Vice President, Praabhav Foundation
17.00 to 17.15 Mr Pudumai Balakrishnan, Resource Person, Transport Department, Govt. of Puducherry
17.15 to 17.25 Mr Bikash Mohapatra, Forum for Prevention of Road Accidents
17.25 to 18.25 Certificate Distribution

MoVACon Venue


Ahmedabad Management Association, 1, Dr Vikram Sarabhai Marg, University Area, Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380015